fbpx
RU EN PL UK

Reserve "Cossack graves" (Berestechko)

Cossack graves are a unique place, sacred for every indifferent Ukrainian. It was here, on these green meadows and swamps, several centuries ago our glorious ancestors gave their lives for the freedom of the Ukrainian people.

It was here, in the middle of three settlements - Ostrog, Berestechka and Plyashev - in 1651, the largest battle of the War of Liberation took place under the leadership of Hetman B. Khmelnitsky. 100-thousandth Cossack army with the support of 30 thousand Tatar khan of Islam III Girey fought under Berestechkom with 300-thousand Polish army of King Jan Kazimir II.

At the most important turning point, the Tatar army treacherously retreated due to any unfavorable omens, thereby prejudging the outcome of the battle. Despite the heroic resistance, the Cossacks were defeated, losing, according to various estimates, from 10 to 30 thousand killed. Most of them were simply buried alive in swamps and marshes.

In 1912 in memory of the tragic events on the site of the battle the St. George Monastery was founded, the wooden St. Michael's Church of the XVII century was moved here, in which Khmelnitsky prayed before the battle. According to the project of architects V.Maksimov and A.Schusev a magnificent temple-monument of St.George in the style of Cossack temples with nine chapters, a unique external iconostasis, a "balcony" church of Boris and Gleb and an underground passage was erected. The underground passage connects the St. Michael's Church with the underground chapel-burial-vault of Paraskeva Friday at the St. George's Church, where the remains of the dead Cossacks are buried.

In 1966, a museum-preserve "Cossack graves" was created on the territory of the monastery. Now it is the National Historical and Memorial Reserve "The Field of the Berestetskaya Battle". The museum of the complex presents finds made by archaeologists on the battlefield. In 1991, the first president of Ukraine opened a monument to the Cossacks here. The current St. George Monastery belongs to the Ukrainian Orthodox Church of the Kyiv Patriarchate.

Do you want to keep abreast of all the news and not miss interesting tours?

Subscribe to the newsletter and you will be the first to know about our offers!

fbpx
RU EN PL UK

Заповедник "Казацкие могилы" (Берестечко)

Казацкие могилы - уникальное место, священное для каждого неравнодушного украинца. Именно здесь, на этих зеленых лугах и болотах, несколько столетий назад отдали свою жизнь за свободу украинского народа наши славные предки.

Именно здесь, посреди трех населенных пунктов - Острога, Берестечка и Пляшевы - в 1651 г. произошла крупнейшая битва Освободительной войны под руководством гетьмана Б. Хмельницкого. 100-тысячное казацкое войско при поддержке 30 тысяч татар хана Ислама III Гирея сразилось под Берестечком с 300-тысячной польской армией короля Яна Казимира II.

В самый важный переломный момент татарское войско предательски отступило из-за всяких неблагоприятных предзнаменований, тем самым предрешив исход битвы. Несмотря на героическое сопротивление, запорожцы были разбиты, потеряв, по разным оценкам, от 10 до 30 тысяч убитыми. Большая часть из них просто были заживо погребены в болотах и топях.

В 1912 г. в память о трагических событиях на месте битвы был основан Свято-Георгиевский мужской монастырь, перенесена сюда деревянная Михайловская церковь XVII в., в которой Хмельницкий молился перед боем. По проекту архитекторов В. Максимова и А. Щусева был сооружен великолепный храм-памятник Св. Георгия в стиле казацких храмов с девятью главами, уникальным наружным иконостасом, "балконной" церковью Бориса и Глеба и подземным ходом. Подземный ход соединяет Михайловскую церковь с подземной часовней-усыпальницей Параскевы Пятницы под Георгиевским храмом, где захоронены останки погибших казаков.

В 1966 г. на территории сонастыря был создан музей-заповедник "Казацкие могилы". Сейчас это Национальный историко-мемориальный заповедник "Поле Берестецкой битвы". В музее комплекса представлены находки, сделанные археологами на поле битвы. В 1991 г. первый президент Украины открыл здесь памятник казакам. Действующий Свято-Георгиевский мужской монастырь принадлежит Украинской православной церкви Киевского Патриархата.

Хотите быть в курсе всех новостей и не пропустить интересные туры?

Подпишись на рассылку и узнаешь первым о наших предложениях!