fbpx
RU EN PL UK

The Golden Gate Kiev

The Golden Gate of Kiev is an architectural monument of the 11th century, one of the main fortifications of the city.

The first mention of the construction of the gate - 1037 year, "The Tale of Bygone Years". The construction of the gate for one year raises reasonable doubts, because Nestor describes the erection of a number of monumental structures in the same year. Residents of Kiev in this period was about 30tys., And for all current construction projects simply would not have enough hands. According to the manuscript "The Word of the Law and Grace" by Illarion, in the interval 1019-1037. Over the Great Gates under Prince Yaroslav the church was erected, after which they were called Golden. This period of construction looks more reliable.

According to the decree of Yaroslav the Wise, the city was surrounded by high enough trees (up to 12 m) and wide (up to 27 m) logs of logs covered with earth, with a total length of about 3.5 km. The second line of fortification was a ditch. Powerful fortifications were on the three entrance gates of the city - Lviv, Lyadsky and main - Golden.

The architecture of the ceremonial Golden Gate was different from everything that was built earlier, their role was not only throughput, they served as a ceremonial, festive entrance to the city. Above the gate tower towered the Church of the Annunciation with shining golden domes, and the passage from the gate was directed directly to the ensemble of the Hagia Sophia.

For several hundred years the Golden Gate performed its basic function, but in 1594 were destroyed. According to Erich Liasota, these were majestic ruins, along which it was still possible to judge the power of the former fortification, and they were still the gate. Their condition is clearly visible on sketches of the artist from Holland Abraham van Westerfeld, who accompanied the Lithuanian hetman Janusz Radziwill in his campaigns. Westerfeld recorded the ruins of the Church of the Annunciation, the ruins of fortress walls and the remains of entrance structures.

And in 1832 year, while excavating in the Yaroslavov Val area, Kondraty Lokhvitsky discovered the remains of walls with a length of 13,25 meters. In height, the find reached 8 m. Vaults and crypts did not survive. Attempts were made to maintain the gate - the erection of fencing around them, the strengthening of cracks with lime, the coating of metal and the addition of new masonry in certain places and the strengthening of the walls. But the precipitation and time continued destructive effects.

Only in 1972 year it was decided to restore the Golden Gate in the most close to the original form. The basis was the plans-drawings of the Vladimir gate von Burke 1779 g, built on the principle of Kiev.

Architect Lopushinskaya developed a project that allowed to preserve the oldest ruins, strengthening them and building the upper part. The one-person gatehouse with three naves was also restored. The model for the reconstruction of mosaic floors was the elements of the floor picture of an ancient temple from the Sofia Architectural Reserve.

Now there is a museum here. Guests are invited to inspect the remains of two beams that have survived from the original structure, there are also traces of sun beds and survived the masonry of the outer part of the travel arches.

Do you want to keep abreast of all the news and not miss interesting tours?

Subscribe to the newsletter and you will be the first to know about our offers!

RU EN PL UK

Золотые ворота Киев

Золотые ворота Киева – памятник архитектуры XI века, одно из основных фортификационных сооружений города.

Первое упоминание о строительстве ворот – 1037 год, «Повесть временных лет». Постройка ворот в течение одного года вызывает обоснованные сомнения, т.к. Нестор описывает возведение еще ряда монументальных сооружений в том же году. Жителей Киева в этот период было около 30тыс., и для всех текущих строек просто не хватило бы рабочих рук. Согласно рукописи «Слово про Закон и Благодать» Иллариона, в промежутке 1019-1037 гг. над Великими воротами при князе Ярославе была воздвигнута церковь, после чего их стали звать Золотыми. Этот период строительства выглядит более достоверным.

Согласно указу Ярослава Мудрого, город был окружен достаточно высокими (до 12 м) и широкими (до 27 м) валами из тесаных бревен, засыпанных грунтом, общей длиной около 3.5 км. Второй линией фортификации шел ров. Мощные укрепления были на трех въездных воротах города – Львовских, Лядских и главных – Золотых.

Архитектура парадных Золотых ворот отличалась от всего, что было построено ранее, роль их была не только пропускная, они выполняли функцию парадного, праздничного входа в город. Выше надвратной башни возвышалась церковь Благовещенья с сияющими золотыми куполами, а проезд от ворот направлялся прямо к ансамблю собора Святой Софии.

В течение нескольких сотен лет Золотые ворота выполняли свою основную функцию, но в 1594 были разрушены. По свидетельству Эриха Лясоты, это были величественные развалины, по которым еще можно было судить о мощи бывшего укрепления, и они все еще являлись воротами. Состояние их хорошо видно на зарисовках художника из Голландии Абрахама ван Вестерфельда, который сопровождал гетмана литовского Януша Радзивилла в его походах. Вестерфельд зафиксировал руины церкви Благовещения, развалины крепостных стен и остатки входных сооружений.

А в 1832 году, проводя раскопки в районе Ярославов Вал, Кондратий Лохвицкий обнаружил остатки стен длиной 13,25 метров. В высоту находка достигала 8 м. Своды и склепы не уцелели. Были предприняты попытки сохранить ворота – возведение вокруг них ограждения, укрепление щелей известью, покрытие металлом и добавление новой кладки в некоторых местах и укрепление стен. Но осадки и время продолжали разрушительное воздействие.

Только в 1972 году было принято решение о восстановлении Золотых ворот в максимально приближенном к оригиналу виде. Основой послужили планы-чертежи Владимирских ворот фон Берка 1779 г, построенных по принципу киевских.

Архитектор Лопушинская разработала проект, который позволил сохранить древнейшие развалины, укрепив их и надстроив верхнюю часть. Восстановлен был и однобанный надвратный храм с тремя нефами. Образцом для реконструкции мозаичных полов стали элементы напольного рисунка древнего храма из Софийского архитектурного заповедника.

Сейчас здесь функционирует музей. Гостям предлагается осмотреть остатки двух балок, сохранившихся от оригинального сооружения, видны также следы лежаков и уцелела кладка наружной части проездных арок.

Хотите быть в курсе всех новостей и не пропустить интересные туры?

Подпишись на рассылку и узнаешь первым о наших предложениях!